Senator Elizabeth Warren

2020 Fall Convocation Featuring Senator Elizabeth Warren

Saturday, September 26 2020 | 12:00 PM - Location: Virtual Event

Douglass invites you to attend the College's 102nd Fall Convocation! We are honored to host Senator Elizabeth Warren as this year's guest speaker. The 102nd Fall Convocation ceremony will welcome incoming Douglass students to the College and to Rutgers University–New Brunswick. Rutgers President Jonathan Holloway will welcome Senator Warren to the Douglass community. In addition, Dean Jacquelyn Litt and students will convey messages to the Class of 2024.

About Senator Warren:

The first woman elected to the Senate from the state of Massachusetts, Senator Warren has worked for the people of Massachusetts and the country for eight years. Senator Warren currently serves on the Committee on Banking, Housing, & Urban Affairs, the Committee on Health, Education, Labor & Pensions (HELP), the Special Committee on Aging, and the Senate Armed Services Committee. Prior to her start in politics, Senator Warren earned her JD from Rutgers Law School. Senator Warren also campaigned for the Democratic presidential nomination in 2020. During the 2019-2020 school year, the College’s theme was “nevertheless, she persisted,” a phrase inspired by Senator Warren’s examples of agency in Congress. Across college programs and events, Douglass students examined persistence in women’s lives. The event is free and open to the Rutgers community through remote platforms.

About President Holloway:

Jonathan Holloway, a U.S. historian, took office as the 21st president of Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, on July 1, 2020. He also serves as a University Professor and Distinguished Professor. Prior to accepting the presidency of Rutgers, Dr. Holloway was provost of Northwestern University from 2017 to 2020 and a member of the faculty of Yale University from 1999 to 2017.  At Yale, he served as Dean of Yale College and the Edmund S. Morgan Professor of African American Studies, History, and American Studies. Read more.